Thank You to the BTP Team

BTP Team

The words to begin this post with have been eluding me for days now, so rather than put it off any longer I’m just going to type and hit “post” immediately as I’m sure there are no words within my very limited vocabulary that will ever do you wonderful people justice.

 
For me – and I feel I can safely speak for Louis here – this has truly been one of the most beautiful experiences of my life for so many reasons… Building a school with no power, no conventional tools and almost no skill between us was never going to be easy, but the way in which everyone constantly pulled together and had each others backs was nothing short of inspiring in itself.

 
Sharing the hut on secret beach and living village life together was truly an unforgettable experience. Riding our bikes together for 16km every day, whilst having some of the most inspiring conversations I’ve ever had provided me some of my favourite moments. Cooking (far too much rice) for each other, washing up, collecting water from the lake for our showers and sleeping outside when it was too hot (or too  infested with rats!) in the hut are all memories I will cherish long after this trip is done.

 
And, of course, there are the kids, all of their beautiful, smiling faces greeting us every day, helping us carry dirt, rocks and concrete, the endless cuddles and complete trust that they showed us was far and away the most beautiful part of the last two months.

 
But now that we have left the village – some to go home and start planning what ever steps you are taking next to change the world, others to continue on travelling with the hope of making a difference – it’s really dawned on me just how much I’m going to miss all of you, and how none of this would have been possible without Koky’s inspiring leadership, drive & determination, or without all of the volunteers.

 
You all played such a huge part in making this the most amazing time of my life, so I want to say thank you. Thank you, thank you, thank you for all of the laughs, love and conversations we had together. Every single one of you. And a special thank you to Koky for allowing Louis and I to be a part of this life changing experience… We did it, team! We built a school!

 
We look forward to joining the Baby Tree Projects meeting via Skype in a few weeks time and seeing all of your beautiful selves, so until then, take care and keep doing awesome stuff!

 
Drew

One thought on “Thank You to the BTP Team

Leave a Reply

